The stylish eyes of Scoop magazine – Clare Ryan

8 Aug

I love looking at magazines purely for the images! Images that we visit only for a moment but they can generate a mix of emotions to the reader – beautiful images, images that exude style or make you want to experience that very time and place of the shot.

One talented lady is responsible for the style elixir that is poured into our lives through Scoop magazine – Clare Ryan.
Not only do envy her position as the Style Editor of Scoop magazine (who wouldn’t want this high pressure but glamorous position!!), but I also admire the stylish work she produces with each edition. Clare does a fantastic job at knowing her audience and making them want whatever it is that features in the magazine! Although Clare does work with some very stylish designers, creators and photographers – she has a stylish eye and knows how to use it!

Clare is professional and gorgeous and although she has deadlines to meet – she was fabulous enough to share a quick chat with StyleWA!

1.  How have your previous positions assisted you in landing the role as Style Editor for Scoop Publishing?
I’ve been at the company for nearly seven years and worked my way up to this position. It was a fantastic learning curve for me to learn all the different aspects of publishing and how every department works together to create the magazine. I actually started in sales support and I just kept working hard, saying yes to everything and proving myself and eventually the right doors opened.
2.  How would you define your own personal style and is it reflected your work with Scoop magazines?
This is such a hard question! I wouldn’t say I have a defined style as such as I love all different aspects. I wear what I feel comfortable in (it also depends what mood I’m in) and sometimes that can be very minimal and understated or bright and a little over the top.  I’m sure my style does come across to a degree in the magazine, so its good that I’m open to all different styles.  The magazine has  very stylish readers that need to be able to relate to our style pages. Our Style File section features the latest collections in local stores, while the Style News section looks at the latest openings, trends and more – I think this gives our readers a large variety of styles to choose from.
3.  Who are your favourite Western Australian fashion designers?
There are so many talented Western Australian designers that I could just list them all off! Aurelio Costarella, Flannel, One Fell Swoop, Ae’lkemi, Morrison, Zhivago, Garth Cook and the list just keeps going.
4.  What is in store for the celebrations of Scoop magazines 60th edition?
Our 60th edition celebrates WA in all aspects of food, events, music, fashion, community and more. We take a look at STYLEAID and it’s 15th birthday, local designer Garth Cook, and feature some of the State’s top designers in our fashion shoot.
Clare Ryan, thankyou for your time with StyleWA!

 

 

Leave a Reply

